Work in progress

I am continuing to figure out all the logistics of how to make substantially larger perforated prints than I have attempted before. I am currently translating elements of embroidery skills and patterns that I have been studying and applying these on photographic paper.

I’m using it in my perforations to look like a ‘Stomacher’ from the 18th Century. I was interested in how the straight line would work across the curve of the body.

These images here are a couple of close-ups of the paper from the front…The print as a whole is 1.2 x 1.4 metres so the size of the body in the image is a fantastic space to work with. I’ve included at the end an image of a piece of my Jacobean Crewel Work – I wanted to show how the stitches from one medium are translated into another. I have been interested in using the specifics of the language of each stitch – in the second image here you can see an interpretation of ‘Trellis stitch lattice’ which is, as it sounds, a bit like a trellis across a large area. In the embroidery at the end it’s in the top left flower. It’s a very useful stitch as it gives you a grid.

Work in progress